SOL Lawyer Magazine_Summer 2022



NICHOLS INTERIM DEAN; SCHILTZ INTERIM DEAN FOR ACADEMIC AFFAIRS Following the announcement that Dr. Julie Sullivan would step down as president of the University of St. Thomas at the end of the 2021-22 academic year, the St. Thomas Board of Trustees appointed law school Dean Robert Vischer interim president, beginning June 1. Current Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Joel Nichols is now interim dean of the law school and Professor Elizabeth (Lisa) Schiltz stepped in as interim associate dean for academic affairs. They also assumed their new roles on June 1. A national search for the next university president has commenced.

CONGRATULATIONS, KAARIN NELSON SCHAFFER! At the 11th annual Alumnae Brunch on November 6, 2021, St. Thomas Law honored Kaarin Nelson Schaffer ’06 J.D. with a 2021 Alumna Achievement Award. She was nominated by fellow alum and colleague Ben Kwan ‘13 J.D. Kaarin Nelson Schaffer is a partner at Conard Nelson Schaffer. She litigates on behalf of employees in employment-related matters, including sexual harassment, whistleblower retaliation, discrimination and other forms

of unlawful workplace conduct by employers. From 2020–2021, she served as the trustee for the next of kin of George Floyd. Nelson Schaffer and others brought a Section 1983 claim against the city of Minneapolis and the four former Minneapolis police officers involved in the death of George Floyd that ultimately settled for $27 million. The settlement has been described as the largest pre-trial civil rights wrongful death settlement in U.S. history. As the trustee, Nelson Schaffer utilized her strong relationship skills to help navigate a wide variety of interests and personalities, and helped to bring about an uncontested distribution.

Alumna Kaarin Nelson Schaffer ’06 (above, center), recipient of the 2021 Alumna Achievement Award, stands for a photo with her fellow law school classmates during the annual “Leadership at Your Best” alumnae brunch hosted by the School of Law and the Law Women’s Networking Committee.

Page 6 St. Thomas Lawyer

Powered by